Councillors elected by the community set strategic directions for council, as well as playing a major role in the planning and delivering of services that meet community needs.

Pyrenees Shire has the following duly elected Councillors: 

Avoca Ward - Cr Ron Eason

Phone: 0417 508 471

Cr Ron Eason and his wife Jenny came to Avoca in 2009 after purchasing the Newsagency.  They moved from Tatura in the Goulburn Valley where the land is flat. The hills and the scenery of the Pyrenees is a pleasure to behold. Running the Newsagency together has allowed us to get to know the community we are in and the people of our Shire.

As a first time Councillor the road ahead is exciting and daunting but with the support of Jenny and my constituents, I hope to provide a understanding ear for the community and an advocate for our Shire. 

Please feel free to call in to the shop and discuss any matter you wish me to help with.

 Cr Eason served as Mayor in 2016/17.


Beaufort Ward - vacant


Our colleague and friend, Cr Michael O’Connor, passed away unexpectedly on Tuesday 15 May. To fill the vacancy a by-election will be held for the Beaufort Ward on 18 August.


Mount Emu Ward - Cr Tanya Kehoe

Phone: 0439 571 480

Cr. Tanya Kehoe and her husband Bernard operate a sheep property at Mt Emu.

Cr Kehoe has lived in the area throughout her life and is involved in a number of community groups in the area.

Cr Kehoe is a trained teacher and is employed in Pastoral Care at the Australian Catholic University in Ballarat. Cr Kehoe has five children Annie, Thomas, Max, Jack and Bridget.

Cr Kehoe served as Mayor in 2014/15.


Ercildoune Ward - Cr David Clark - Mayor

Phone: 0417 374 704

First Elected: 1992, re-elected November 2008 and October 2012

Cr. David Clark operates a mixed farming property at Glenbrae, in the centre of the Ercildoune Riding, as well as working in natural resource management and community development.  David is active in both the Waubra and Lexton communities.

Cr. Clark was Pyrenees Shire Mayor in 1999, 2003-04, 2010 and elected again in October 2017.  Cr Clark is the Rural South Central Representative on the Municipal Association of Victoria.


De Cameron Ward - Cr Robert Vance

Phone: 0447 384 500

First Elected: 1987

Cr. Robert Vance started his career in local government with the Avoca Shire Council, where he served from 1987 to 1994, including one term as Mayor. He joined the post amalgamation Pyrenees Shire Council in 1996 when he was the Warrenmang Ward Councillor from 1996 until 2002, and was Mayor in 1997-98.

Cr. Vance returned to Council again to represent the Warrenmang Ward in March 2008, and was Mayor in 2008-09 and again from 2013-14. Cr Vance represents Council on the Asset Management Committee, Municipal Fire Prevention, Central Victorian Green House Alliance and Timber Towns. Cr Vance offers good honest representation and enjoys meeting up with the different committees from the smaller towns across De Cameron Ward.

Cr. Vance is a farmer in Landsborough and is married to Jan.


We acknowledge the people past and present of the Wadawurrung, Dja Dja Wurrung, and Djab Wurrung tribes, whose land forms the Pyrenees Shire. We pay our respect to the customs, traditions and stewardship of the land by the elders and people of these tribes.

Page last updated: 9:45 AM, 06 June 2018
Disclaimer & Copyright  |  Accessibility  |  Privacy  |  Contact Us  |  Find Us  |  Subscribe