Elected by the Councillors, the Mayor takes precedence at all municipal proceedings and speaks for council on policies and important local issues. The Councillors elect the Mayor at a Statutory Meeting held annually in November.

During their term of office the Mayor is the 'first citizen' of the Shire.

Year Shire President Year Shire President
1996/97 Cr Lester Harris 1997/98 Cr Robert Vance
1998/99 Cr Neil Hamer 1999/2000 Cr David Clark (Part)
1999/2000 Cr David Bailey (Part) 2000/01 Cr Lester Harris
2001/02 Cr Robert Vance 2002/03 Cr Richard Goodman

At Council's April 2004 Meeting a decision was made that Pyrenees Shire will now use the title 'Mayor' rather than 'Shire President'.

Year Mayor Year Mayor
2003/04 Cr David Clark 2004/05 Cr Lester Harris
2005/06 Cr Lysette Ashford 2006/07 Cr Gabriel Horvat
2007/08 Cr Lester Harris 2008/09 Cr Robert Vance
2009/10 Cr David Clark 2010/11 Cr Michael O'Connor
2011/12 Cr John Quinn 2012/13  Cr Michael O'Connor   
2013/14  Cr Robert Vance 2014/15
Cr Tanya Kehoe
2015/16 Cr  Michael O'Connor
 2016/17 Cr Ron Eason
2017/18  Cr David Clark

We acknowledge the people past and present of the Wadawurrung, Dja Dja Wurrung, and Djab Wurrung tribes, whose land forms the Pyrenees Shire. We pay our respect to the customs, traditions and stewardship of the land by the elders and people of these tribes.

Page last updated: 4:28 PM, 08 November 2017
Disclaimer & Copyright  |  Accessibility  |  Privacy  |  Contact Us  |  Find Us  |  Subscribe